What are the penalties for a second DUI conviction in Alabama? 

On Behalf of | Feb 1, 2023 | Criminal Defense

Facing a DUI conviction is a worrying time, especially when it’s your second one within ten years. You’re going to be concerned about how it might affect you financially, personally and professionally. The prospect of losing your driving license and the possibility of spending time in jail can have far-reaching repercussions and is a scary prospect to have to come to terms with. 

Knowing what the consequences are likely to be can help you prepare yourself for what penalties you could be facing. 

Alabama penalties for a second DUI

The state of Alabama sets its own laws for DUI offenses and a second conviction is treated as a misdemeanor. Having said that, there is still a mandatory minimum jail time that applies. 

A minimum of five days in jail and a maximum of one year must be awarded. If the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was more than 0.15%, the judge must give the full sentence. This can be given as probation provided that at least five days of jail time are served. 

Other possible consequences include: 

  • Fines of $1,100 to $5,100 as well as court costs 
  • Completion of a substance abuse evaluation and completion of a recommended program
  • Revocation of driving license for one year followed by installation of an ignition interlock device for two years 

One additional point to note is that if the DUI involved a  BAC of 0.15% or more or there was a passenger in the car who was under the age of 14, any minimum penalties awarded must be at least doubled by the presiding judge in the case. 

Being charged with a DUI offense requires quick and effective legal assistance. This is the best way to put forward your defense and challenge the evidence against you.